radarpaster.blogg.se

Mac mini hard drive replacement ssd
Mac mini hard drive replacement ssd




mac mini hard drive replacement ssd
  1. #Mac mini hard drive replacement ssd for mac
  2. #Mac mini hard drive replacement ssd license key
  3. #Mac mini hard drive replacement ssd install

iTunes, iPhoto, even "system preferences" etc etc.įirst, my system was built via Time Machine restore - after SSD (Crucial 512Gb) on the SATA-3 port. This happened on Firefox, MS Word, Soundtrack (yes, I am still using it). I finally solved the problem of screen flickering ( when an app is opened, or few apps are opened), the screen will flicker on the app(s). Now, I have to wait until Apple to do some firmware/software update for his annoying issues. I did several PRAM resets - not successful. The flickering also caused the stutter of key strokes - making the typing inefficient. No surprised, SSD outshines the stock HDD, however - I am not too impressed with 2014 Mac Mini.įirst - screen flickering issues (both SSD and HDD) - (it happened with HDMI, HDMI->DVI and thunderbolt -> DVI), no matter which port/adapter I used - the screen flickering is annoying. I compared this new SSD with the old HDD (I did turn it on to make sure the system worked before the teardown).

#Mac mini hard drive replacement ssd license key

Of course, need a new license key for 2011 Office, passwords for 4 different e-mail accounts and other softwares (such as Rosetta Stone).

#Mac mini hard drive replacement ssd install

There are two extra screws - one to stabilize the SATA cable and one for the wifi antenna cable.īoot it up, using my USB Yosemite to install the 512Gb Crucial SSD, then using time machine to restore my previous system. Unfortunately, the 2.5" Drive bay is in the bottom from the working position - unlike 2010-2012. I have to say, the process is not that intimidating. It took me no time to open it up ( I have decent experience from previous 2009 - 2012 Mac Minis).

mac mini hard drive replacement ssd

For now, I am settling with slower speed of SATA-3, third party SSD without TRIM.Īccording to UPS, the my new toy will be delivered Monday and I will post more details about this SATA SSD upgrade process. I am hoping one day, iFixit will have the part for the PCI-e cable/setting to be placed in 2014 Mini - for some people want to play around. Through the web, I found the Fusion drive model (2014, oh, with USD 200 extra) has PCI-e 128Gb SSD and 1T HDD. After all the price adding, I realize I can buy TWO base 2.6GHz i5 Mini than 1 customized high end Mini. Because I have few 512Gb SSD sitting around - I was torn to order the higher end model with PCI-e Apple OEM SSD 512G. I decided to order a base model of 2.6GHz i5, with stock 1T hard drive, 8G ram (639-699 USD). sighĪlong with iOS 8.1.1 - I start to notice the inadequacy of my 2011 Mac Mini - airdrop/hand off will not work natively without some modification.Īfter tossing around getting an 2012 i7 Quad-core Mini ( 800-1000 USD) or - jumping into the fixed memory, 2014 Mini? 2012 i7 Quad core, 2011 i7 with 6630M AMD video etc.Ĭut into the story - I also put SSDs in all of them ( 1T SSD in 2012, 256Gb x 2 dual drives in 2011 and 256Gb in 2010) plus used Terminal to enable "TRIM" - until 10.10. They were all the top Spec models - at the time.

mac mini hard drive replacement ssd

Now, we have 2010 (TV at bedroom), 2011 (mine) and 2012 Mac Minis. Since then, I have turned to Mac Mini - for the small fraction of cost, I can "update" my Mini more frequently.Ģ009 Mac Mini x 2 (mine and my spouse's) are currently at grand children's possession, still going strong.

mac mini hard drive replacement ssd

#Mac mini hard drive replacement ssd for mac

A long time Mac Mini fan here - after spent almost 3K for Mac Pro (outdated in few years) that I have to "accept" Apple's product refreshing strategies - that upgrade my hardware periodically is the trend.






Mac mini hard drive replacement ssd